A glimpse into the musical world of nature’s genuine night songstress,‚Äč The Nightingale, this concert treats the audience to musical visions from dusk till dawn.

From nightmares of ghosts and restless sleep in Vivaldi’s eerie La Notte (The Night) to the awe-inspiring virtuosity of Mozart’s Magic Flute arias, the program will also explore Elena Kats-Chernin’s 2004 Helpmann award winning Wild Swans and Grieg’s glorious depiction of the morning sunrise in his Peer Gynt Suite.

Taking the world by storm, young coloratura soprano Alexandra Flood returns from her European triumphs to join Southern Cross Soloists for this concert, which also includes the premiere of a new chamber version of noted Australian composer Ross Edward’s bird-inspired Clarinet Concerto.


VIVALDI La Notte RV104a
MOZART* Overture and arias from The Magic Flute K.620
ROSS EDWARDS Clarinet Concerto
DELL'ACQUA Villanelle
RIMSKY-KORSAKOV The Nightingale and the Rose from Op. 2
ELENA KATS-CHERNIN Selections from Wild Swans
GRIEG* Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Op. 46

Presented by Southern Cross Soloists and QPAC