Presented by Southern Cross Soloists and QPAC

Southern Cross Soloists open 2018 in the spirit of reinvention, as we reimagine works by classical music greats Vivaldi, Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky and Ravel.

Revel in Tchaikovsky’s Mozart-inspired Rococo Variations featuring new Southern Cross Soloists cello Soloist Meta Weiss. Be enthralled by Stravinsky’s baroque-inspired Pulcinella Suite, and a refreshed version of Matthew Hindson’s rock and roll oboe piece Rush in honour of his 50th birthday. This concert will be a smorgasbord of musical delights, finishing with Ravel’s quirky and whirling tribute to the Viennese waltz, with La Valse.

A not to be missed highlight will be the world premiere of leading composer, and ABC broadcaster Julian Day’s mesmerizing new immersive work for Southern Cross Soloists, Resound: Above and Beyond


VIVALDI Concerto in F major, RV 455
STRAVINSKY Pulcinella Suite
DAY Resound: Above and Beyond (World Premiere)
TCHAIKOVSKY Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33
RAVEL La Valse