Presented by Southern Cross Soloists and QPAC

Southern Cross Soloists are delighted to introduce Australian audiences to Miroslav Petkov, Principal Trumpet of the elite world orchestra, The Royal Concertgebouw Amsterdam.

Described as having “the eloquence of a great storyteller” by the New York papers, Miroslav is one of the most dynamic trumpet soloists of today, and joins the Soloists for a thrilling program of brilliance and air.

Beginning with the precipitous virtuosity of the piccolo trumpet in Bach’s second Brandenburg concerto, we take you on a journey of emotion through Copland’s melancholic Quiet City, and Prokofiev’s passionate Romeo and Juliet Suites. Bulgarian composer Georgii Cherkin’s foot-stamping Sevdana and Bulgarian Dance will lead into our tribute to the great Leonard Bernstein’s 100th anniversary, with Hindson’s Homage to Bernstein, and Bernstein’s own West Side Story



BACH Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major, BWV 1047
ARTIE SHAW Concerto for Clarinet
COPLAND Quiet City
SKIPWORTH New Work (World Premiere)
PROKOFIEV Romeo and Juliet Suite
GEORGII CHERKIN Sevdana and Bulgarian Dance
HINDSON Homage to Bernstein (World Premiere)
BERNSTEIN West Side Story