Presented by Southern Cross Soloists and QPAC

Join Southern Cross Soloists for a special performance to commemorate our silver jubilee anniversary.

Southern Cross Soloists celebrates in style with a program of masterworks by composers renowned for their bold risks, brazen originality, and unusual sounds and textures. These musical mavericks pushed boundaries like never before, leaving their distinctive mark on all those who followed. From Berlioz's quirky viola showpiece (possibly composed during an opium haze), to Bruch's evocative Kol Nidrei and Debussy's risqué Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune, this program shares some of our favourite works and highlights the outstanding virtuosity of the Southern Cross Soloists.

The concert concludes with a piece that has become a signature work for Southern Cross Soloists, Gershwin's daring and fearless hybrid piano concerto, Rhapsody in Blue.

We continue the festivities after the performance with a special toast in QPAC's Concert Hall foyer to celebrate 25 years of exquisite music-making.



MOZART Oboe Quartet in F KV 370
BERLIOZ Harold in Italy: Harold in the Mountains Op. 16
BRUCH Kol Nidrei, Op. 47
NICHIFOR Two Dances for solo clarinet
DEBUSSY Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
GERSHWIN Rhapsody in Blue

Concert Information




Sunday 19 July 2020, 3 PM
Concert Hall (Reverse Mode) QPAC
90 minutes (no interval)


2020 Season Brochure