top of page

Guillaume Wang

Guillaume Wang is recognised as an emerging young Australian cellist. He has won top prizes in international competitions including first prize at the 2017 Epernay String Competition, third prize at the 2017 Pro Art International Competition as well as being selected as a semi-finalist in the 2018 Prague Spring International Competition and George Enescu Competition. He is also the winner of the 2020 Janigro International Competition with numerous prizes such as an invitation to play with the
Zagreb Philarmonic and Zagreb Soloists. 
Born in Brisbane into a family of musicians, Guillaume commenced the cello at age three and made his solo debut at age fifteen with the Queensland Symphony Orchestra in 2013. In 2018, Guillaume graduated with first class honours from the Conservatoire National Superieur de Musique et de Dance de Paris under the tutelage of his teacher and mentor Raphael Pidoux.
Guillaume has also studied with Gary Hoffman Roland Pidoux, Xia Jiabao, Veronique Marin, Philippe Bary, and David Lale and undertaken masterclasses with Gary Hoffman, Frans Helmerson, Jens Peter Meintz, Peter Bruns, Daniel Muller Schott, Jérôme Pernoo, Maria Kleigel, Marc Coppey, François Salque, Philippe Muller, David Garingas and Steven Isserlis.
Recent performances have taken him to many international venues including the Wigmore Hall and St Martin in-the-fields church London; the Queen Elizabeth Music Chapel, Belgium; the International Music Academy Maurice Ravel, St Jean de Luz, The National Library Arts Centre, Beijing, The Athenaeum, Romania, Bayerischer Rundfunk ARD in Munich and
participated in the Kronberg Masterclass in 2018.
In September 2019 Guillaume commenced a degree (artists diploma) in performance (cello) at the Queen Elizabeth Chapelle Musicale under the tutelage of Gary Hoffman and obtained his Masters with highest honors at the Paris Conservatory with Marc Coppey.
Guillaume plays a 1754 Salvador Bofil Cello, generously loaned by Talents & Violoncelles. Supported by the Australian Music Foundation and sponsored
by Thomastik infeld

bottom of page